McCloud Chapter 2

I really enjoyed reading chapter 2 of McCloud. I have mentioned before that comics do not interest me much and I have a hard time reading and understanding them, but I was able to read this chapter and understand the lessons and guidelines that McCloud was expressing. I really liked the breakdown of “symbols, icons, and pictures” on page 27. My favorite quote can be found of page 30, “when we abstract an image through cartooning, we’re not so much eliminating details as we are focusing on specific details.” I like this because I am not very artistic, I am horrible at drawing, but I think that if I can use this technique by drawing simple, basic figures, such as a face, but maybe add a few easy details, which should not be very hard to do, I can make my comic more interesting and meaningful.

2 responses to “McCloud Chapter 2

  1. I agree with you. Comics really aren’t my thing, I mean, I enjoy them when I read them, but I’ve never really thought of them as a learning tool before. But now that I think about it, they are simple, memorable pictures that, when done well, are a perfect little learning tool.
    And the symbols like word association (my favorite study method) but in picture form.

  2. Conveying meaning is so much more than drawing a pretty picture. There are many ways to use icons, symbols and pictures to get a point across. The idea of an icon, a full representation of something in simplest forms, is a great way to convey meaning, while not worrying about techinques describing every detail. For instance, a cross, is a religious icon, representing an entire religion, could be used to convey meaning without using detailed artistic talent.

Leave a Reply

