Theory of Comics

I really liked McCloud’s comic pyramid. It’s definitely something that’s going to stick with me for a while I think. It was easy to understand and he offered so many examples with it that it made it nearly impossible for me not to grasp.

            Though, I’m not sure how I felt about the whole theory of inserting oneself into more simple depictions of characters. I did find the little blurb about Japanese animation and how objects, when being used, become more simple since they are an extension of the user, but when it needs to become more objectified then they give it more detail. See, I understand the theory just fine and it does make sense, it’s just when I think about it from my own experience, I don’t feel like I do that. I merely see the image of another person. Maybe it’s a subconscious thing.

            The Barry comic was an informative read on perspective. It seemed the author had a very shut-in childhood. But it raised a lot of good questions. Why do some comics come back to us when others don’t, even when we didn’t care much for them? It’s definitely an experience thing, I think. And definitely a personal one to. Some things affect people differently than others. Those same things can stick out more and are more easily conjured for some people than others.

One response to “Theory of Comics

  1. I have noticed that when I do read comics, I always go to the ones that I have always liked the most. Because those were the ones that stood out to be the most. Every Sunday, I go through the comics and I still read the same ones I’ve been reading for years. They are the ones that I enjoy the most. I never really thought about why those are the ones that I go back to, while other ones I ignore. I think I’m going to think about that next time I read the comics to try and understand what I like most about the comics I always tend to read.

Leave a Reply

